The First Chapter

Dear reader of this journal,

As I’ve mentioned in my introductory post, this is my second blog. I thought I’d explain the reasons prompting me to start a new one right away and how I came to call this blog Lifespotting.

I’ve been blogging more or less for two years now, having started in 2013. I do still very much enjoy writing on it and am continuing to keep it up; however, a recent conversation with an old friend made me want to open up a new blog. I used to be very secretive about my blog until one day I decided to stop being so silent and let some people know about it. It can also be found on other social media profiles of mine, so I was indeed aware of the fact that my blog was easy to find. Still, this didn’t prevent me from feeling utterly shocked – a strange tingling sensation crawling all over my neck, back, and hands – upon hearing my friend casually mentioning my blog stating that she’d read a post or two. Terrified, I rummaged through my brain trying to remember all the things I’d ever written on that blog (despite knowing there wasn’t anything I was going to be too embarrassed of). Since that incident I’d been contemplating my blog’s future and ultimately decided to stick to it as well as keep everything as it was. Nevertheless, I couldn’t get the thought out of my head that I would always feel at least a bit inhibited whenever posting new content. Especially after this. And so I’ve come to create a new blog, one I wouldn’t tell anyone about, that would allow me to have an online presence in which I can be as frank and honest as I wish to be.

Another aspect I envisioned for this new blogging adventure of mine was that I wanted to explore a new style of blogging. Something deeper and personal, like an online diary. My other blog is personal as well (I’m not doing it for business or professional reasons and mostly talk about my interests, what I read and watch, etc.) but I hardly ever admit what pains me, what bothers me, which worries and fears I have. I always admired writers who could do that: share their innermost feelings. I love reading posts that tell of the writer’s thoughts and emotions; it makes me feel connected with them. And I always wondered whether I was capable of becoming “such a writer” at some point. So here’s me at my first attempt. My head’s filled with ideas of how I want this blog to read and feel but I’ve made no concrete plans as to which direction this eventually will lead. I’ll just surprise myself.

Lastly, I’m going to explain the origins of my name and blog title. As usual, it took me quite some time to come up with something as I pick my online names very carefully because I want them to have meaning. Lifespotting Twenties is, obviously, for one thing an allusion to my age, which I found quite fitting for I will be writing about my current experiences. Trainspotting being my favourite film of all time (there are several close seconds, though) and inspired by it’s famous opening line Choose Life, I merged these two into Lifespotting, the image I had in mind after “creating” that title was of myself looking at my life through this blog.


Hopefully, this has given you a bit more insight into what this blog is all about and maybe piqued your interest to see what’s next to come.

typewriter

13 comments

  1. Tummeefei · September 16, 2015

    i can somehow relate to this. there are times i’m hesitant if i should share a post or two to a friend or just let them find it on their own (someday). it’s sometimes easier to let your feelings out to a stranger…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lifespotting Twenties · September 16, 2015

      Absolutely! I also find it easier to write on here because I see (and read of) so many people with similar feelings & views, so I feel less embarrassed to open up here than with people I used to know.

      Like

  2. hmbrew · September 16, 2015

    Love this! I’ll be following. I’m in my twenties as well. Can’t wait to read your upcoming posts!

    Like

  3. gabrielurichard · September 16, 2015

    This is nice, i like it its given me clear insight in what i should do?.. thanks

    Like

  4. gabrielurichard · September 16, 2015

    I hope you don’t mind me mentioning your post for

    Like

    • Lifespotting Twenties · September 16, 2015

      Hi! Thanks, I’m glad you like it! No, of course not, I don’t mind you mentioning my post at all! Good luck on your own blog!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. mattherlives · September 16, 2015

    As a starting personal blogger, I want to thank you for posting this! Absolutely love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: The First Chapter | reflectivelysteeped
  7. kellypeplinski · September 17, 2015

    I can completely relate to the worry about someone you know finding your blog! I think that’s a solid part of the reason why it has taken me a looong time to start blogging even though I enjoy writing, but I also have recently chosen to have the mindset of “if you don’t like what I’m saying, don’t read it.” I hope your new blogging venture is less worrisome! ☺

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lifespotting Twenties · September 17, 2015

      I think that’s a very good mindset to have, and totally essential for blogging! Thanks so much, I already feel less worrisome 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

